Our other sites:

What are the parts of a countersunk magnetic disc?

Shop for Magnetic Discs

Labelled parts of a silver countersunk magnetic disc: north pole, south pole, north pole dimple, and countersunk hole

Magnetic poles on a countersunk magnetic disc

Axially and diametrically magnetised ring magnetic discs with labelled north and south poles The magnetic poles of a countersunk magnetic disc can be magnetised in two ways; axially and diametrically. The two varieties of magnetisation allow disc magnets to be used for a greater range of uses.

An axially magnetised disc magnet is magnetised through the length of the magnet, whereas a diametrically magnetised magnet is magnetised through the diameter. The most common form available is axially magnetised.

North pole dimple on silver ring magnetic disc On some countersunk magnetic discs the north pole is indicated by a dimple.

Countersunk hole on a countersunk magnetic disc

Counter sunk magnetic disc A countersunk hole has a flat top on one magnetic face which tapers towards the other, in the shape of a cone.

A countersunk hole allows the magnet to be attached to a surface with a countersunk screw. This keeps the surface flat, as the screw, due to the countersunk hole, is allowed to sit level with the countersunk magnetic disc.

Countersunk magnetic disc keeper

Two countersunk magnetic discs with a white keeper in between The steel keeper on a countersunk magnetic disc must be removed before use to allow the magnet to work to its full potential. The keeper is a soft piece of iron temporarily added between the two countersunk magnetic discs to prevent them from demagnetising.